Saints vs. Buccaneers 2013 Game Preview and Matchup History

Derick E. Hingle-USA TODAY Sport

A detailed look at the history between the Saints and Buccaneers as well as some standout individual player performances.

NEW ORLEANS SAINTS (1-0) AT TAMPA BAY BUCCANEERS (0-1)

SERIES

SAINTS

BUCCANEERS

SERIES LEADER

25-17

STREAKS

Past 3

COACHES VS. OPP.

Payton: 6-6

Schiano: 0-2

LAST WEEK

W 23-17 vs. Falcons

L 18-17 at Jets

LAST GAME

12/16/12: Buccaneers 0 at Saints 41. New Orleans QB Drew Brees throws for 307 yards & 4 TDs. Saints CB Jabari Greer records 2 INTs as Saints defense total 5 turnovers.

LAST GAME AT SITE

10/21/12: Saints 35, Buccaneers 28. New Orleans QB Drew Brees passes for 4 TDs, including 48-yarder to WR Joseph Morgan & 20-yarder to TE David Thomas.

BROADCAST

FOX (4:05 PM ET): Kevin Burkhardt, John Lynch, Erin Andrews (Field reporter). SIRIUS: 157 (NO), 85 (TB). XM: 228 (TB).

STATS

PASSING

Brees: 26-35-357 (T3C)-2-1-113.6 (3C)

Freeman: 15-31-210-1-1-67.9

RUSHING

P. Thomas: 9-43-4.8-0

Martin: 24-65-2.7-1 (T3L)

RECEIVING

Sproles (RB): 6-88-14.7-0

Jackson: 7-154 (2C)-22.0-0

OFFENSE

419.0

250.0

TAKE/GIVE

+1

0

DEFENSE

367.0

304.0 (2C)

SACKS

3 tied: 1

Foster: 2 (2C)

INTs

Harper: 1 (T3L)

David: 1 (T3L)

PUNTING

Morstead: 49.3 (3C)

Koenen: 46.6

KICKING

Hartley: 11 (T3L) (2/2 PAT; 3/3 FG)

Lindell: 5 (2/2 PAT; 1/1 FG)

SAINTS

QB DREW BREES has won 3 in row vs. TB, completing 80 of 112 (71.4 pct.) for 942 yards with 10 TDs vs. 2 INTs for 119 rating. Aims for 3rd in row vs. TB with 300+ yards & 4+ TDs. Since joining NO in 2006, leads NFL with 33,928 yards & 246 TDs. Has 300+ pass yards in 6 consecutive games, tied for 2nd longest in NFL history.

RB PIERRE THOMAS has TD in 3 of past 5 meetings.

RB DARREN SPROLES aims for 4th in row vs. TB with rec. TD. Since 2011, leads NFL RBs with 167 catches, 1,465 rec. yards & 14 rec. TDs.

RB MARK INGRAM rushed for 90 yards & TD in last meeting.

Since 2011 (incl. playoffs), TE JIMMY GRAHAM leads NFL TEs with 200 catches & 2,495 yards. Leads NFC TEs with 24 TDs in that span.

WR MARQUES COLSTON has 8 TDs in past 9 division games.

WR LANCE MOORE has 100+ yards or TD in past 3 meetings.

Since 2006 (incl. playoffs), S ROMAN HARPER has 18.5 sacks, most by DB. Had INT & FR last week.

DE CAMERON JORDAN aims for 3rd in row vs. TB with sack & FF.

CB JABARI GREER had 2 INTs in last meeting.

BUCCANEERS

In last home meeting, QB JOSH FREEMAN completed 24 of 42 (57.1 pct.) for career-high 420 yards with 3 TDs vs. 0 INTs for 115.2 rating. When Freeman has 100+ rating, Bucs are 11-3 (.786).

RB DOUG MARTIN has 1,437 scrimmage yards (130.6 per game) & 11 TDs (10 rush, 1 rec.) in past 11. His 1,437 scrimmage yards are 2nd most in NFL during that span.

WR VINCENT JACKSON set franchise record with 216 rec. yards (7 catches, TD) in last home game vs. NO. In 3 career meetings, has 17 catches for 357 yards (119 per game) & 2 TDs. Among active players (min. 200 catches), has NFL-best 17.9 avg. (351 catches, 6,292 yards). Had 7 catches for 154 yards (22 avg.) last week.

WR MIKE WILLIAMS has 4+ catches in all 6 games vs. NO.

CB DARRELLE REVIS had 54-yard INT in only game played at Raymond James Stadium (12/13/09 with NYJ).

S DASHON GOLDSON had 11 tackles & 41-yard INT in 2011 Div. Playoff vs. NO (1/14/12 with SF).

LB LAVONTE DAVID had sack & INT last week, 1st career game with both.

More from Canal Street Chronicles:

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Canal Street Chronicles

You must be a member of Canal Street Chronicles to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Canal Street Chronicles. You should read them.

Join Canal Street Chronicles

You must be a member of Canal Street Chronicles to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Canal Street Chronicles. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9341_tracker