Saints vs. Cardinals 2013 Game Preview and Matchup History

Tim Fuller-US PRESSWIRE

A detailed look at the history between the Saints and Cardinals as well as some standout individual performances by players from both teams.

ARIZONA CARDINALS (1-1) AT NEW ORLEANS SAINTS (2-0)

SERIES

CARDINALS

SAINTS

SERIES LEADER

14-12

STREAKS

3 of past 5

COACHES VS. OPP.

Arians: 0-0

Payton: 2-1

LAST WEEK

W 25-21 vs. Lions

W 16-14 at Buccaneers

LAST GAME

10/10/10: Saints 20 at Cardinals 30. Arizona S Kerry Rhodes takes FR 27 yards for TD. Cardinals CB Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie seals win with late 28-yard INT-TD.

LAST GAME AT SITE

12/16/07: Saints 31, Cardinals 24. New Orleans QB Drew Brees completes 26 of 30 (86.7 pct.) for 315 yards, 2 TDs & 132.6 rating. Saints RB Aaron Stecker scores on 2 TD runs.

BROADCAST

FOX (12:00 PM CT): Sam Rosen, Heath Evans, Molly McGrath (Field reporter). SIRIUS: 132 (Arz.), 93 (NO). XM: 226 (NO).

STATS

PASSING

Palmer: 48-79-575-3-2-85.2

Brees: 52-81-679 (3C)-3-3-87.4

RUSHING

Mendenhall: 31-126-4.1-1

P. Thomas: 14-72-5.1-0

RECEIVING

Roberts: 11-133-12.1-0

Graham (TE): 14-224-16.0-2

OFFENSE

369.0

395.0

TAKE/GIVE

0

+1

DEFENSE

344.0

320.0 (2C)

SACKS

Campbell: 1

4 tied: 1

INTs

D. Williams: 1

M. Jenkins: 1

PUNTING

Zastudil: 44.6

Morstead: 46.1

KICKING

Feely: 19 (T3L) (4/4 PAT; 5/6 FG)

Hartley: 21 (2L) (3/3 PAT; 6/7 FG)

CARDINALS

QB CARSON PALMER won only start at NO (11/19/06 with Cin.), completing 14 of 22 (63.6 pct.) for 275 yards with 3 TDs vs. 1 INT for 127.8 rating. His teams are 11-2 (.846) when he has 120+ rating.

In only game vs. NO (10/31/10 with Pit.), RB RASHARD MENDENHALL had 38-yard rush TD.

Rookie RB ANDRE ELLINGTON had 36-yard rec. TD last week, 1st career TD...Since 2007 (incl. playoffs), WR LARRY FITZGERALD leads NFL with 64 rec. TDs.

WR ANDRE ROBERTS has 4 rec. TDs in past 6 Sept. games.

CB-PR PATRICK PETERSON, S TYRANN MATHIEU & LB KEVIN MINTER all played at LSU. Peterson had 4 tackles, PD, 17-yard pass, 17-yard catch & 3 PR last week. Is 1st defender with catch & completion in same game since 1970. Since entering NFL in 2011, Peterson leads NFL with 4 PR-TDs & is only player with 7+ INTs (9) & 3+ PR-TDs (4).

LB JOHN ABRAHAM has 122 career sacks, most by active player.

Since 2007 (incl. playoffs), DT DARNELL DOCKETT has 34 sacks, most in NFL by DT.

LB KARLOS DANSBY is 1 of 2 active players (LONDON FLETCHER) with 30+ sacks (31.5) & 10+ INTs (11).

SAINTS

In 2 home meetings vs. Az. (incl. playoffs), QB DREW BREES is 2-0, completing 49 of 62 (79 pct.) for 562 yards with 5 TDs vs. 0 INTs for 131.3 rating. Since joining NO in 2006, leads NFL with 34,250 yards & 247 TDs. Has 300+ pass yards in 7 games in row, 2nd longest streak all-time.

Since 2011, RB DARREN SPROLES leads NFL RBs with 173 catches, 1,501 rec. yards & 14 rec. TDs.

Since 2011 (incl. playoffs), TE JIMMY GRAHAM leads NFL TEs with 210 catches & 2,674 yards. Leads NFC TEs with 25 TDs in span. Aims for 3rd in row at home with TD.

In 3 career meetings (incl. playoffs), WR MARQUES COLSTON has 21 catches for 294 yards (98 per game) & 2 TDs. Has 9 TDs in past 7 at home.

Since 2006 (incl. playoffs), S ROMAN HARPER has 18.5 sacks, most by DB. Since entering NFL in 2006, is 1 of 2 players (PATRICK WILLIS) with 17+ sacks (17), 14+ FF (14) & 7+ INTs (7).

CB JABARI GREER had 26-yard INT in last meeting.

More from Canal Street Chronicles:

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Canal Street Chronicles

You must be a member of Canal Street Chronicles to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Canal Street Chronicles. You should read them.

Join Canal Street Chronicles

You must be a member of Canal Street Chronicles to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Canal Street Chronicles. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9341_tracker