clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Drew Brees Breaks Dan Marino's Single-Season Passing Record

With an unprecedented five players currently at 4,500 total yards passing, record-setting rookie performances by Cam Newton and Andy Dalton, the MVP play of Aaron Rodgers and Tebowmania gripping the country, the 2011 NFL season will forever be known as The Year of the Quarterback.

But one quarterback stands above all the rest this season. One quarterback truly defines greatness. Our very own Drew Brees.

Congratulations to Drew, Mr. 5,000, for breaking Dan Marino's 27-year-old single-season passing yards record and for putting together another 5,000-yard season. No matter what the media, league or others might say, you'll always be our MVP.