clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Thomas Morstead "Walter Payton Man of the Year" Nominee

Thomas Morstead was nominated for his community service as well as excellence on the field. Thomas has been one of the few consistent players during the 2014 season.

Thomas Campbell-USA TODAY Sports



The prestigious Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award presented by Nationwide is unique among NFL honors because it is the only award that recognizes a current NFL player for outstanding community service activities as well as excellence on the field. Established in 1970, the award was renamed in 1999 after the late Chicago Bears' running back Walter Payton, who represented the very best of the NFL as an athlete on the field and as a role-model off of the field.

Nationwide is proud to be the first-ever Presenting Sponsor of the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award and plans to recognize and promote the nominees by celebrating their efforts to make an impact in their local community.

An elite panel of judges including Commissioner Roger Goodell, former NFL Commissioner Paul Tagliabue, Sports Illustrated writer Peter King, Connie Payton, Frank Gifford, Anthony Muñoz and the 2013 Payton Award recipient, Charles Tillman, will select the overall winner from the list of the 32 NFL team nominations. The winner will be announced during the "4th Annual NFL Honors," awards show Saturday, January 31, from 9-11 p.m. ET on NBC.

The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award recipient will receive a $25,000 donation in his name to a charity of his choice from both the NFL Foundation and Nationwide ($50,000 total). The two additional finalists will receive $5,000 donations in their names, and the other 29 nominees will receive $1,000 donations from the NFL Foundation to their selected charities.

To see the complete list of nominees for here.

Walter Payton Man of the Year