clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2014 NFL Schedule Release: Saints Road to Arizona

New, comments

The 2014 NFL regular season schedule will be officially released at 8pm ET tonight, but rumors are swirling already and the Saints will likely start 2014 on the road at Atlanta. They will also play in five primetime games. The Saints continue to be big time in the Sean Payton and Drew Brees era.

Get ready for some Saintsational football in 2014, New Orleans!
Get ready for some Saintsational football in 2014, New Orleans!
Derick E. Hingle-USA TODAY Sport

After finishing second in the NFC South last season, the Saints will have the 9th easiest strength of schedule in 2014 (0.469) based on their opponents' 2013 win-loss records.

Although the "science" behind the notion of strength of schedule isn't quite exact, a few things are interesting to note:

a) At 0.469, New Orleans' 2014 schedule is the weakest in the NFC South.

b) The team's road schedule in 2014 is the third easiest in the entire NFL (0.430).

I think it's safe to say that Saints fans will take it!

***

NFL Schedule Formula:

1) Each team plays the three other teams in its own division twice a year (6 games).

These teams are the Falcons, Panthers and Buccaneers for the Saints.

2) Each team plays the four teams from another division in its own conference once a year (4 games)

For the Saints in 2014, these teams are from the NFC North: Packers, Bears, Vikings, Lions.

Two of those games are on the road (Bears, Lions) and two at home (Packers, Vikings).

3) Each team plays the four teams from another division in the other conference once a year (4 games)

For the Saints in 2014, these teams are from the AFC North (Steelers, Bengals, Ravens, Browns).

Two of those games are on the road (Steelers, Browns) and two at home (Ravens, Bengals).

4) Each team plays two teams from another division in its own conference (2 games)

This is based on finishing the prior regular season with the same division standings.

For the Saints in 2014, these teams are the 49ers (home) and the Cowboys (road).

Before we get the official times and dates for the 2014 schedule (which will be updated in this thread as soon as they starts leaking out), here's a look at the home and away opponents for the Saints next season.

Have fun and discuss what you think would be the easiest/toughest games this upcoming season!

***

Saintsschedule2014_medium

2014 New Orleans Saints Football Schedule

WK

DATE

OPPONENT

TIME (ET)

1

Sun, Sep 7

  • @

1:00 PM FOX

2

Sun, Sep 14

  • @

1:00 PM FOX

3

Sun, Sep 21

  • vs

1:00 PM FOX

4

Sun, Sep 28

  • @

8:30 PM NBC

5

Sun, Oct 5

  • vs

1:00 PM FOX

6

7

Sun, Oct 19

  • @

1:00 PM FOX

8

Sun, Oct 26

  • vs

8:30 PM NBC

9

Thu, Oct 30

  • @

8:25 PM NFL

10

Sun, Nov 9

  • vs

1:00 PM FOX

11

Sun, Nov 16

  • vs

1:00 PM CBS

12

Mon, Nov 24

  • vs

8:30 PM ESPN

13

Sun, Nov 30

  • @

1:00 PM FOX

14

Sun, Dec 7

  • vs

1:00 PM FOX

15

Mon, Dec 15

  • @

8:30 PM ESPN

16

Sun, Dec 21

  • vs

1:00 PM FOX

17

Sun, Dec 28

  • @

1:00 PM