clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

New Orleans Saints Training Camp / Preseason Roster Depth Chart

The New Orleans Saints released their first unofficial depth chart this afternoon.

Michael Shroyer-USA TODAY Sports

The Saints have released their first depth chart of the 2014 season.  Not too much can be taken from this release, given that veterans are usually given automatic preference over rookies.  And as the team takes care not to aggravate even the smallest injuries this early in the preseason, several players have yet to even show us what they really have to offer this year.

This is definitely not a projected depth chart for the regular season, so fans can expect plenty to change over the next few weeks.  But for now, let's take a look at the official team's unofficial stance on the guys we'll be watching compete for roster slots:


POS First Second Third Other
WR Marques Colston Nick Toon Brandin Cooks Brandon Coleman
Steve Hull
LT Terron Armstead Bryce Harris Tavon Rooks
LG Ben Grubbs Senio Kelemete Jason Weaver
C Jonathan Goodwin* Tim Lelito *
RG Jahri Evans Marcel Jones Manase Foketi
RT Zach Strief Thomas Welch Ty Nsekhe
TE Jimmy Graham Benjamin Watson Josh Hill Nic Jacobs
Je'Ron Hamm
QB Drew Brees Luke McCown Ryan Griffin Logan Kilgore
FB Erik Lorig Austin Johnson
RB Mark Ingram Khiry Robinson Pierre Thomas Travaris Cadet
Derrick Strozier
Timothy Flanders
WR Robert Meachem Kenny Stills Andy Tanner Joseph Morgan
Seantavius Jones
Charles Hawkins

* Goodwin and Lelito are both competing for center.  The Saints have not released anything claiming one is over the other at the moment, but experience gets preference in these initial depth charts.


POS First Second Third Other
LDE Akiem Hicks Tyrunn Walker George Uko
NT Brodrick Bunkley John Jenkins Brandon Deaderick Lawrence Virgil
Tyrone Ezell
RDE Cameron Jordan Glenn Foster Rufus Johnson Jr.
OLB Junior Galette Keyunta Dawson Victor Butler Kasim Edebali
ILB David Hawthorne Kyle Knox Todd Davis
ILB Curtis Lofton Ramon Humber Kevin Reddick
OLB Parys Haralson Khairi Fortt Ronald Powell Chidera Uzo-Diribe
Marcus Thompson
LCB Keenan Lewis Corey White Trevin Wade Rod Sweeting
Terrence Frederick
SS Kenny Vaccaro Vinnie Sunseri Marcus Ball
FS Jairus Byrd Rafael Bush Pierre Warren Ty Zimmerman
RCB Champ Bailey Patrick Robinson Stanley Jean-Baptiste Brian Dixon
Derrius Brooks

Special Teams

POS First Second Third Other
P Thomas Morstead
K Shayne Graham Derek Dimke
LS Justin Drescher
H Luke McCown
PR Travaris Cadet Brandin Cooks Charles Hawkins
KR Travaris Cadet Brandin Cooks Charles Hawkins
KO Thomas Morstead Shayne Graham Derek Dimke

There is still a month of training and preseason games remaining, before we get to see the first depth chart of the official 53-man roster.  But that doesn't mean we can't take a look at where things sit currently, and make all sorts of conclusions from the comfort of our keyboards.