clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Saints name 2016 Team Captains

The 2016 New Orleans Saints Team Captains have been announced, and we have a couple of new faces.

NFL: Dallas Cowboys at New Orleans Saints Derick E. Hingle-USA TODAY Sports

Head coach Sean Payton and the New Orleans Saints have announced the 2016 Team Captains. Quarterback Drew Brees and center Max Unger will represent the offense, while free agency acquisition James Laurinaitis and defensive end Cameron Jordan will represent the defense. Linebacker Michael Mauti is special teams, which was actually announced by Payton on Wednesday.

Here’s a brief history of some of the players named captains over the years.

  • 2015: Drew Brees, Zach Strief, Benjamin Watson, Brandon Browner, Cameron Jordan, Thomas Morstead
  • 2014: Drew Brees, Zach Strief, Curtis Lofton, Junior Galette, Thomas Morstead
  • 2013: Drew Brees, Zach Strief, Roman Harper, Malcolm Jenkins, Jonathan Vilma, Courtney Roby, Will Herring
  • 2012: Drew Brees, Zach Strief, Roman Harper, Malcolm Jenkins, Courtney Roby

Week 1 is right around the corner, with the black and gold set to host the Oakland Raiders at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The 2016 NFL Season kicks off tonight with a Super Bowl rematch between the Carolina Panthers and Denver Broncos.