clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Was It Intentional Grounding For Panthers vs Saints? [VIDEO]

New, comments

It’s been hotly debated by fans this week whether the right call was made at the end of the Carolina Panthers and New Orleans Saints game.

Wild Card Round - Carolina Panthers v New Orleans Saints Photo by Jonathan Bachman/Getty Images

As you can imagine, the losing team always has a play or two that they feel didn’t go their way that should have. In this wild card match up one of those plays for the Carolina Panthers was the intentional grounding on the last play. Were they robbed in their bout against the Saints?

Here is what Panther’s coach Ron Rivera had to say to Around The NFL “Well, I thought our quarterback was out of the pocket. I thought there was a receiver in the vicinity. I thought the ball passed the line of scrimmage,” Rivera said after the loss. “I mean, I don’t know. It would be nice to have the explanation. ... I didn’t get the explanation.

Cameron Jordan had just broken through two blocks to apply the pressure on Cam Newton, and the Panthers felt he had rolled out of the pocket. In the below video, I break down that play from multiple angles as well as open up the NFL rule book to see what the qualifications for that penalty are.

As always, thanks for watching. Do you believe it was intentional grounding? Who Dat and God bless!