clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Can 2018 Finally be Drew Brees’s MVP Year?

Hopefully this can be the year.

Super Bowl XLIV Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images

Drew Brees is a Super Bowl MVP, 11 time Pro Bowlers, 2 time Offensive Player of the Year, and has led the NFL in passing 7 different times. But the New Orleans Saints QB has filed to win the NFL’s Most Valuable Player Award.

In 2011, Brees’s historic year, the MVP went to Aaron Rodgers of the Green Bay Packers. Brees finished with 5,476 yards, 46 touchdowns, and only 14 interceptions. He also added another 86 yards and a TD on the ground. Rodgers, on the other hand, finished with 4,643 passing yards, 45 touchdowns, and only 6 interceptions. He also added 257 yards and 3 touchdowns on the ground. No one is claiming Rodgers didn’t deserve the MVP.

In 2009, the year the Saints won the Super Bowl, the MVP went to the QB of the losing team, Peyton Manning of the Indianapolis Colts. Brees finished 2009 with 4,388 passing yards, 34 touchdowns, 11 interceptions, and led the league in completion percentage. Manning finished with 4,500 passing yards, 33 touchdowns, and 16 interceptions. If Rodgers won over Brees in 2011, there’s no real reason Manning won over Brees in 2009. But que sera, sera.

In any great year of Brees, there was always another QB that had arguably as good - or better - season. If it wasn’t Manning, it was Rodgers. If it wasn’t either of them, it was Brady. Maybe 2018 can be Drew’s year.

The aforementioned Rodgers and Brady are two of the three NFL players (along with Carson Wentz) given better odds of winning the MVP in 2018. If Brees is able to have another stellar year, he’ll have to contend with the usual suspects this coming season.